Weekend Author Slam

One of my favorite streets in Madison, Wisconsin is Monroe Street, downtown near the university campus. It features some amazing independently owned stores. My personal favorites are:
Strictly Discs (awesome vinyl collection)
A Stone’s Throw (fashion boutique)
Barriques (a wine and coffee shop–my two favorite beverages available in one place)

Last year, a new bookstore opened on Monroe Street, A Mystery To Me, and I made a mad dash to check it out. It’s a great space, and has a passionate owner who loves to bring authors and readers together. This weekend, Mystery to Me is featuring a local author slam and I highly recommend you stop by if you live in the Madison area.

I will be going on at 6:45 on Friday night (the slam is going on Thursday-Saturday). Basically, an author takes the stage for 15 minutes which includes a short reading and a few words…that way lots of authors can participate. Please stop by, show your support and get inspired!

~Katie

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Author Slam

  1. Matt says:

    Thanks for the mention Katie!

  2. Sarah Zitrone says:

    You can’t imagine how much I wish to live in the US right now. Sometimes living in Germany isn’ nice since all the cool people live in the US. I’d really, really like to come but I can’t :(
    The name of the book store’s pretty awesome. In Germany the owners of a book store often name it for their own name which is boring.
    However, a lot of fun to all the people who’ll visit “A Mystery To Me” on Friday!

Leave a Reply

